Blockchain.info offering BTC via bank transfer

Posted on October 31, 2012

1


I’ll give this a go and blog the results soon, but thought I’d flag up that blockchain.info now offers Bitcoin via bank transfer in the UK, and some other EU countries.

Good news for UK people trying to get BTC. Right now I’m not sure if you can turn BTC back into GBP using this. I also kind of miss the market-based aspect of exchanges like Intersango – blockchain.info is useful for buying Bitcoins, but doesn’t seem to really influence the price of Bitcoin at all. (You just pay a 5.97% fee on top of the latest market price.)

I’m not a huge speculator, but the price of BTC is actually a really useful indicator for how much demand there currently is, and it’s a shame if that’s limited to select currencies.

 

