My so-called Bitcoin Life

Posted on June 22, 2012

2


aka “Living with Bitcoin“, or “So you’ve decided to trust an emergent, controversial and potentially environmentally-destructive virtual currency.

In which an “everyday person” (me) decides to write about his experiences converting to the Bitcoin currency, a weird mix of nu-markets, strange banking apps, and bizarre cryptotalk. What could possibly go wrong?

Hello

By “everyday”, I mean I guess I’m a fairly normal Bitcoin “user”. Namely:

  1. I’m fairly geeky. I like to understand how stuff works.
  2. I’m a bloke, and a Dad, with a fairly 9-5 job (well, 9.30-5.30ish).
  3. I don’t mine.
  4. I run off a laptop, an Android phone, and a work PC.
  5. I don’t have much cash at the end of the day, but I like to use it well.
 
I’m mainly interested in what Bitcoin can help us do a) differently (and hopefully better), and b) together. (Aww.)
 
I think there’s a belief/assumption/understanding/fear/hope among current Bitcoin early-adopters, that the current model of financial control is … not necessarily broken, but out-dated. Network-wise, we’re moving rapidly towards technology which behaves fundamentally different to previous hierarchical structures. Change is getting faster because networks are getting more and more flexible. Links between nodes – all nodes – can be established and torn down millions of times within one eye blink.
 
In that sense, I’m not interested in Bitcoin directly. I’m interested in alternatives. Bitcoin just happens to be the most plausible-looking alternative so far. I’ve been dabbling in it for just over a year and a half, but feel like it’s time to start really getting to grips with it – not technically, but socially.
 
I’ll try to keep this post updated with small thoughts as I encounter them. Feedback keeps me going, so feel free to drop some comments, or follow me at @exmosis on Twitter. I’m also up as scribe on the bitcointalk.org forum.
 
Fun time.
Posted in: Uncategorized